Sunday Morning Biscuits

 

Hey y’all.

Happy Monday!

Ugh. Ok I’m trying to put a smile on, but I am having a Monday in every sense of the word. So instead, I’d like to re-live Sunday through this post.

For the greater majority of my life, I was convinced that it was in fact, always sunny on Sunday. Every morning, getting up for church, without fail, it was sunny. And while I now know it is in fact not always going to be sunny on Sunday (and that I no longer have to wake up for church), I still believe in the magic of Sunday. It is still my day of rest. A day for sleeping in and sipping coffee and having a hearty breakfast and dinner with family. I fully believe calories do not count on Sunday, which is why it is the perfect day for biscuits!

I must confess, biscuits have intimidated me for quite a few years. Very early in my baking career, I attempted chive biscuits. Complete failure. I thought that making biscuits was in my blood (being from Mississippi). But after that disaster I began to question my existence… The South was definitely going to kick me out. I was so ashamed it took me until now to attempt again. But when I saw this recipe on Joy the Baker, she made me feel like I could do it!

It’s something about “cutting the butter” in with a pastry blender that always seemed impossible. After this glorious success though, I can tell you to just DO IT! Keep blending. Don’t give up. You will succeed! (Maybe best to try these on a Sunday so you have the magic to back you up).

Things you can do while biscuits are in the oven.

 Here they are. The South said they’d take me back. Phew.

Fresh out of the oven!

Here’s to Sunday. And biscuits.

Recipe (from Joy the Baker):

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tbs sugar

4.5 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp cream of tartar

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup shortening, cold and cut into something resembling “cubes”

1/4 cup butter, cold and cut into cubes

1 egg, beaten

3/4 cup buttermilk, cold

Cube your butter and shortening on a board first. Stick that in the fridge while you assemble your ingredients.

Preheat oven to 425.

 Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt into a large mixing bowl. OK here’s the big moment. Cut in the butter and shortening until mixture resembles coarse meal.

In another bowl, lightly whisk the egg and buttermilk together. Add to flour mixture and stir to make a soft dough. Knead the dough about 15 times.

Roll or pat the dough into 1″ thickness and cut into 2×2 squares. Put your scraps together and do it again. Place on ungreased cookie sheets. Brush the tops with a little more buttermilk (optional). Bake for 12-15 minutes. Consume immediately!

One thought on “Sunday Morning Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Oat Scones « You Are What You Bake

Leave a Reply

