Strawberry Oat Scones

Hi friends. Sorry I’ve kept you waiting on a post. Life has been busy as I’m getting ready for (another) move. However, Jesus resurrected on Sunday and I made sure to celebrate with some baking.

As I was up early to make some Easter scone treats, I reflected on the fact that this was my first Easter without my mom in my 24 years on this earth. As most of you know, I’m not terribly religious. But I do enjoy the excuse for a family gathering and lots of food. It’s safe to say that everything I know about baking, I learned from my mom and it was hard not to bake with her yesterday. So, I’m gonna dedicate this post to Sandals (scandals to some). Thanks, Mom. For everything.

Ok ok. Enough sentimental goodness. Let’s get down to the real stuff:

strawberry fields

This recipe has a lot of similarities to the Sunday Morning Biscuits. So if you made those, these are a great follow up! Additionally it’s a quick and easy recipe to whip together. I might experiment with whole wheat flour next time.

Use your hands to mix in the strawberries… it will be messy, but well worth it…

Recipe adapted from here:

1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1 1/3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/3 cup sugar plus a little extra
1 tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1.5 cups fresh strawberries, chopped
1/2 cup butter, cold, cut into small pieces

Preheat oven to 400.

Whisk together buttermilk and egg. Set aside. Combine flour, rolled oats, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender or your hands until it looks like crumbs. Stir in the buttermilk/egg mixture with a spoon (or your hands) until just blended. Add the strawberries and gently mix.

Knead dough 8-10 times on a floured surface and pat into a disk about 1.5 inches thick. Slice into whatever size/shape scones you desire. Place on greased baking sheet. Top with a little extra sugar (turbinado if you have it). Bake for about 20-22 minutes until golden brown. Allow to cool on wire rack. Enjoy!

One thought on “Strawberry Oat Scones

Leave a Reply

