Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Yall! It’s FRIDAY! I thought I’d share these (very lemony) muffins with you! I love muffins mostly because they’re an excuse to have dessert for breakfast! Yum. They’re also super easy and quick. No mixer required. Bonus!

I anticipate this post will have lots of exclamation points! Because it’s Friday! I am finishing a very rough week at work/in life. Sleep deprivation has taken me off my A game which is why there are only two things on this weekend’s to-do list:

1. SLEEP!

2. BLOG!

#2 is particularly important. I will be baking a cake! For my brother’s birthday! However, he lives in Virginia and so I will only be able to share it with him via le blog. But he probably likes the internet more than he likes eating baked goods. And I don’t mind eating cake for two people. win-win.    !

Let’s talk more muffins:

That is in fact pink wine, ladies and gentlemen. It goes very well with all shades of baking! I can’t remember why I needed this bottle of wine. I just remember that I drank it. All. And if you know me, you know I’m the kind of person who will choose a wine on its label. This one was no exception! And! PINK! WINE!

Lemon Sugar!

You’re gonna have this step where you use your hands to mix lemon zest with sugar. It’s really satisfying. I don’t know why. It starts to feel like wet sand. And it feels great.

Batter! yum!

Dessert! For breakfast!

 I adapted this recipe:

2/3 cup granulated sugar

zest and juice of 1 lemon

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup buttermilk or sour cream

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 stick butter, melted until browned and cooled

2 Tablespoons poppy seeds

2 Tablespoons granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 400. Line muffin pan with muffin liners.

In a large bowl, use your hands to mix together the zest and sugar to make lemon sugar. Whisk in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk, eggs, vanilla, butter, and lemon juice.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and fold together. Add poppy seeds at the last second and mix in.

Divide batter into muffin cups (about 3/4 full). Sprinkle tops with 2 tbs sugar.

Bake for 15-18 minutes until tops are golden and a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Let cool for a couple minutes in the pan, and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

