RSS Feed

B$ Doughnuts!

Posted on

Oh, hello. Here’s something to know about this post: I have spent this week working on my personal statement for law school. So much pressure. I’m not going to bore you with the details except to say that it requires a lot of thinking and then controlling how you express that thinking into well formed sentences that make you sound smart and interesting.

blahhhh. just let me speak! I’m basically going to write every thought that comes into my head. and I don’t care if it’s horrible english or don’t sound smart. yall.

Yesterday was señor gaupo B$ meester bretty’s birthday!

spritzer.

 I mostly showered him with baked goods and other cooked things. We will really celebrate in a few weeks when we go to Lake Tahoe for a week (omigoshicantwait). Cory hung out with us on Tuesday and we went into the city. Here’s Cory being a stud:

I bought new sunnies yesterday. I’m mildly obsessed:

There are so many dishes in my sink right now. I’m scared to go home. Why are there so many dishes? Partially because yesterday I made DOGHNUTS FROM SCRATCH!!!!!!!! Hello. I found this recipe from shutterbean.com. I was sold on it because unlike most doughnut recipes, it uses buttermilk and requires no yeast… therefore no rising! It was my first experience frying anything and it was a great success!

Somehow I felt healthier eating these doughnuts than the storebought ones. It felt good to know exactly what was in them. Have I ever told you why I started baking so much? I used to work at CSPI which believes America eats too much processed food and sugar (truth). We weren’t allowed to have “junk food” in the office and I started thinking one day that if CSPI had its way, the US probably wouldn’t have candy bars or any of that… junk. But people being people would still want sweets! What would we do?! We would bake. That’s what. Yeah. So that’s why baking sweets is my favorite. It somehow allows me to justify it, and heck if you’re willing to do all that work, you deserve a cookie (or doughnut). And look at that! You just made a doughnut! I love when a plan comes together.

Go make these. You deserve it.

3.5 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup sour cream

1/2 stick of butter, melted and slightly browned, then cooled

(a lot of) vegetable oil for frying

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and another with paper towls

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon. In another bowl, wisk together eggs, buttermilk, sour cream, and butter (make sure it’s coooool so you dont cook the egg!).

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour all of the wet ingredients in. Now fold it together with a spatula. This is important. Folding means taking the spatula to the bottom of the bowl and “lifting” the dry ingredients and fold them over the wet. Continue doing this until you have a sticky dough (some flour may still not be mixed in. this is ok!)

Turn the dough out on a floured work surface and sprinkle a little more flour on top of the dough. Pat the dough to be about 1 inch thick. Then use two cutters (shutterbean recommends one 3.25” and one 1.5”. I used a wide mouthed plastic cup and an empty bottle with about the right sized “hole.”) and cut our your doughnuts and holes and transfer them to the parchment baking sheet. Put the scraps together to keep making doughnuts until you’ve used all the dough. Place the doughnuts in the fridge.

Put vegetable oil in a deep skillet so that it’s about 1-1.5” deep. Use a candy thermometer and heat oil over medium high heat until thermometer reaches 365-370 degrees fahrenheit. While your oil is heating, make your glaze:

Vanilla glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

1/8 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk all ingredients in a bowl. Ta-da!

When the oil is hot and ready, take the doughnuts out of the fridge. Use a spatula to put the biddies in the oil (no more than 3 at a time). Allow a few minutes to brown one side of the doughnut and then flip them (I hope you have tongs. they work well for this). Then get them out of the oil and place on towled baking sheet. Fry all your doughnuts and then holes (which will fry faster… duh) and while the doughnuts are still warm (again, use tongs) dip them in the glaze. I invite you to get creative and explore chocolate glaze options (with sprinkles?). I was thinking of using the chocolate glaze recipe from this post. But this would require more time than the hour I had before work…

Get ’em while they’re hot!! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

