RSS Feed

Classic Cookies: Oatmeal Raisin

Posted on

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to share these. They are a constant in the kitchen of Hayley.  These are easy to pull together and don’t require refrigeration of the dough. Brett has said these are his favorite cookies ever… maybe you don’t know B, but that’s saying a lot coming from this guy.

After last post I’ve decided I should include more wonderful things about California (so far I’ve mentioned lemons, beaches, and the weather) to convince everyone I know to move to this glorious state. And if you’re already here, you can gloat right along with me.

Today, I’m featuring nature in California… first, our state flower:

That’s the California Poppy. Cute as can be. Happy and yellow-y orange and pops up everywhere to brighten your day!

Now, I work in an office building that is in an “office park” but that doesn’t mean I don’t get to see wildlife. Exhibit A:

Mama, Papa, and baby ducks! Just strolling past my window. On a daily basis! They have been fun to watch… they’re practically adults now! They grow up so fast!

Here’s a glimpse from one of my runs. There are trails upon trails upon trails for runners/bikers here. I am spoiled rotten. Also spoiled by weather suitable for running 12 mo/year. No need for a gym membership!

A lot of times I make a half batch of these cookies to A) keep us from becoming fat kids and B) use less of my ingredients supply.

For this batch, I used golden raisins, but I think I prefer the normal kind…

Recipe adapted from Grand Central Baking:

1 3/4 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda
 
1/2 tsp cinnamon
 
1 tsp salt
 
1 cup butter at room temp
 
1 cup sugar
 
1 cup packed light brown sugar
 
2 eggs
 
2 tsp vanilla
 
3 1/4 cups rolled oats
 
1 cup raisins
 
Preheat oven to 350 and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
 
Whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.
 
In the bowl of  a mixer, mix together butter, sugar, and brown sugar until light and fluffy (2-4 minutes). Add eggs, one at a time, fully incorporating the first before adding the second. Then add vanilla and mix.
 
Mix in the dry ingredients gradually in 2-3 batches. Then, in the bowl the dry ingredients were in, mix the oats and raisins with your hands. Mix in the oats and raisins to the dough all at once with the mixer on low, or with a rubber spatula.
 
Take about a 1.5-2 tbs clump of dough for each cookie about 2 inches apart and pat slightly on the top to just give the dough and idea of what it should be doing when it bakes. Bake for 8 minutes, rotating the tray halfway.
 
After you pull them out of the oven, let them rest for a couple of minutes on the tray, then transfer them to a wire rack for cooling. You should probably eat one (or three) at this point too.
 
Enjoy!
 
Leave a Reply

