Dream Weaver Banana Bread

I know everyone has a different story on their dreams. Some people never remember. Some always remember. I go through phases where I remember them a lot and then other times where I don’t remember them at all.

Right now, I’m in one of those places where I remember them. Vividly.

Luckily, there haven’t been any nightmares (unless you count last night’s dream where I was a server at Houstons again as a nightmare).

I had a dream where I met Joy the Baker and Tracy Shutterbean and we were getting our nails did! Sometimes dreams are awesome.

I am mostly just fascinated with dreams when I remember them. All of that was going on inside my head and I didn’t even know!

I planned to make banana bread about a week ago. But here’s the thing about banana bread. You have to wait and wait for those nanas to turn practically black:

I probably could have waited another day. But you know what happened in the time I was waiting? Joy the Baker went and blogged the banana bread she made! Do you think we have a subconscious connection?! (I sure hope so.)

Well it’s not the same recipe but here it is!

Adapted from The Grand Central Baking Book:

1.5 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups all-purpose flour

1.5 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups sugar

2/3 cup vegetable oil

2.5 cups banana mash (I used 3 medium sized bananas)

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

Preaheat oven to 350. Lightly grease two 9×5 loaf pans.

Whisk flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a bowl. Set aside.

Beat together sugar, oil, and banana mash for a few minutes on medium high speed.

Crack the eggs in another bowl and whisk together with vanilla. With mixer on low, gradually add egg mixture until fully combined.

Add one-third of the dry ingredients and mix briefly then add half of the buttermilk. Continue alternating dry and buttermilk until all ingredients, ending with dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Mix in quinoa last. You could also use another grain (brown rice? millet?) just to throw in fiber. Mostly because you can.

Divide the batter into two loaf pans. Bake for 25 minutes. Rotate pans and bake for 25 more minutes. Turn oven down to 325 and bake for 10-15 minutes more until bread is a golden brown with a cracked top and a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Good for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert!

Leave a Reply

